image

The first book I ever read in it’s entirety was My Girl. I remember being so touched by the poem Vada wrote about the willow tree and the passing of her best friend. I actually had to lay down the book until I stopped crying because I couldn’t see the words through my tears. I love when a book is that good, when it grabs hold and reaches you emotionally.

When I saw the movie, I was not disappointed at all. It brought them to life for me and I didn’t feel as though it had neglected to truly reflect the book.

Now on the flip side, when I read Message in a Bottle by one of my favorite authors, Nicholas Sparks, it too affected me emotionally, as all of his stories do. I was excited to see the movie and re-live the moments I had read about and see my characters journey played out for me. Sadly, I was disappointed.

So many key elements that stuck out in my mind, were completely left out. I knew this book, every line, chapter, every scene and I watched each one, waiting for the next because I knew what was coming…but it didn’t come. It was like a scratched dvd, skipping entire scenes. It upset me so badly I had to read the book again to make sure I wasn’t confused. And I wasn’t.

If some lives form a perfect circle, others take shape in ways we cannot predict or always understand. Loss has been a part of my journey. But it has also shown me what is precious. So has a love for which I can only be grateful.
-Message in a Bottle


Has this happened to you? I’d love for you to share with me your book to movie experiences. Did the movie do the book justice or did it leave you hanging?

Magic in the Backyard™
©Kellie Elmore

