Please welcome Best Selling Author, the fabulous- Rachel Thompson…

I’ve written two books of non-fiction (A Walk In The Snark and The Mancode: Exposed), mostly but not all, humor. I curse, discuss sex, men and women, love, loss, suicide, relationships, even chocolate, paper towel scrunchies, and Prada. I’m often graphic, crude where appropriate (I write about men in my book The Manocde: Exposed and men fart. There’s no getting around it, unfortunately. Sigh.). But above all, I’m heart-wrenchingly honest.

“The only really good piece of advice I have for my students is: Write something you’d never show your mother or father” – Lorrie Moore

**UPDATE for the scaredy cats** lol

Rachel and I have decided to offer you the opportunity to post your pieces anonymously OR you may email Rachel with your piece and she will share it on her blog next week! You can find the email at the end of this article…

People often ask, “What does your mom say?” or “Do your parents read your books?”

I’ve been writing since I was age ten. If it weren’t for the support of my folks, I wouldn’t be writing this guest post for Kellie today. That said, every time I sit down to write a provocative essay like THE PENIS. DECONSTRUCTED (in The Mancode: Exposed), the last thing on my mind is my mother cause um, that would be weird don’t you think?

Besides, I’m forty-eight. I’m married. I have two children. I’m thinking the jig is up.

The quote above by author Lorrie Moore has been amazingly freeing for me as an author. Not only as a humorist, but also as a writer of nonfiction in general.

I write about many topics in my past that are difficult and uncomfortable, not only for me but also for my parents. But guess what? Parents are grown ups! And you know what else? It’s my story, my life, my truth. Why shouldn’t I be able to write about it?

I hear from writers every day who ask me how they can reach this point that to me now comes naturally; that place of honesty, that core of truth. Don’t fear it. Embrace it. If you can reach inside yourself and not worry what others will think, not drape your true soul in purple curtains so people won’t realize this is your story….then, you’re getting closer to revealing something you’d never show your folks.

But, you have to take it one more step, in my opinion. Not only do you have to let go of your worry about what your parents will think. Or friends, or teachers, or that gray mass of THEY at large. You have to let go of YOU.

I don’t need anyone’s permission to write about anything, except my own.

  • With that sentence in mind, do you think you can sit down and write a 500-word essay about something you’ve always wanted to reveal but have never felt free enough to discuss? Remember, this is your truth, not a story idea.

(For an example, you can read my blog post Mistake Number Four, about an attempted date rape I experienced in college.)

  • Now take that and condense it down into twenty-five words or less. How would you explain this to your best friend? Or make it an elevator pitch.
  • Finally, give it a title. Four words or less. A tease. What words would you use in the title to make it intriguing enough for the reader to click on if they saw that title in a tweet or their blog reader? (Tip: Being too vague or using hard to pronounce words will lose your reader immediately. Also, keeping in mind our Twitter culture and the need for brevity due to space limitations (120 characters if you want a retweet,  keeping the titles short and to the point also helps as well.)

I hope you enjoy this exercise and find it as freeing as I do. It helps my writing no matter if I’m the funny girl or the serious woman. I hope it helps you as well.

Thanks for this amazing opportunity Kellie! I can be found anywhere as RachelintheOC: Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, blog, email.

Don’t Forget… comment with an original quote & get a FREE Quoto! Let’s have some humor this time!

Rachel’s books A Walk In The Snark (#1 Motherhood) and The Mancode: Exposed (Amazon Top 100), both Kindle bestsellers, are sold exclusively on Amazon (no Kindle required).

Rachel is also a social media consultant;  “I help authors with their author platform, learning social media, branding, and Amazon.” Contact  RachelintheOC@gmail.com for rates and info.

