songwriting(Of course it will be country.)

About a year ago, I attempted to write lyrics. Now, if you know me, you know that I am not at all a fan of rhyme for its restrictive form and because, well, I’m not very good at it. So this proved to be a difficult task from the beginning. But because I love to dabble in anything that makes my creative muse dance, I thought, why not music?

I managed to scribble down a couple ideas using poetry as my muse. Then I emailed them off to Brittany Bouchard (awesome musical talent you should check out btw) who so kindly obliged me to take a look. Unlike my latest endeavor with my book proposal, I really had no high hopes or expectations. I was simply playing with the idea and wanted to get some advice. Brittany’s reply was constructive and kind.

“…it could definitely be molded to song in my opinion. Of course, you’d have to create a song structure (ex. verse, pre chorus, chorus, verse 2, Chorus, bridge, Chorus Outro) there are many variations.”

“…the story imagery is really pretty and it could almost have a country appeal, maybe?”

“If you are interested in getting into song writing, you obviously have the gift to write so that’s a start!”
(in the end, she advised me to take a class.)

So what did I do? I placed songwriting on the back-burner and continued penning free writes. But the desire never left me.

In March 2013, I had the great pleasure of interviewing with Gary Fearon: Writer, Songwriter, Artist and Creative Director for Southern Writers Magazine. Between emails, Q&A’s and banter about Tennessee weather, we got on the subject of songwriting. Gary asked if I might have any interest in working/co-writing with him. I told him of the amateur pieces that I had written and how I was clueless in that department, but (sure!), I’d love to give it a shot! And I am happy to say that we are currently working over one of those little ditties right now.

Wish me luck! I’ll keep you posted.

