gatlinburg

A place I have been to many times. A place that inspired so much of my poetry. The place I married. The place I grew up taking weekend trips to, has burned. My heart is so sad. I feel for all the families and business owners who have lost. And I hurt for the wildlife who are running scared and injured. I worry about people who came on vacation with their family and had to quickly leave and find a safe place, not knowing the area. I ache for the trees themselves! I never thought something like this would make me feel this way. I never thought I would feel so helpless and heartbroken. This has burned me too. But my faith keeps reminding me of one simple scripture…

Isaiah 61:3

To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.

I have learned that with devastation and heartbreak, God never fails to deliver something beautiful in return. In that, I can find peace. In that I hold onto hope.

